Preschool Development Grants Snapshot

David DeSchryver

Late last year, the US Department of Education announced 18 awards in the Preschool Development Grants competition. The Department made two types of grants--Development, for states that currently serve fewer than 10 percent of four year-olds in any existing publicly funded preschool programs, and Expansion, for states seeking to expand existing preschool programs for children from low- and moderate-income families.

Alabama, Arizona, Hawaii, Montana and Nevada received Development grants, varying in size from $2 million to $20 million for year one, with each state requesting funding for a total of up to four years. The five states will receive nearly $56 million in Year 1 funds to create or expand voluntary, high-quality preschool programs.

Arkansas, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont and Virginia all received Expansion Grants. These grants were available to states with existing preschool programs currently serving more than 10 percent of four year-olds, including states that had already been awarded RTT-Early Learning Challenge funds. Six of the thirteen Expansion awards were made to RTT-ELC winners. The states will utilize more than $170.4 million in grant funds to expand their programs in Year 1 of the planned four-year program.

The FY 2015 Omnibus Spending Bill (H.R. 83) is important to note. The 2014 grant competition only provides one-year worth of funding. Any continuation of the program requires annual Congressional appropriation. The Omnibus extends the program into 2015 with a $250 million appropriation.

The attached summary provide a visual cheat sheet for the FY2014 awards. If you have ideas on how to improve or develop the visual, send it our way. „ΙWe are more than happy to collaborate and credit your ideas.